Sunday, December 21, 2014

Follow us:
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to this news feed 


Former Bills Conlan, Smith elected to College Football HOF

  • Text size: + -

SOUTH BEND, INDIANA - Former Bills linebacker Shane Conlan and conerbacker Leonard Smith have been elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Conlan, a Frewsburg native, was an All-American and a Butkus Award finalist while at Penn State. Behind his eight tackles and two interceptions in the 1987 Fiesta Bowl, the Nittany Lions upset the Miami Hurricanes, wrapping up a perfect 12-0 season and national championship.

Conlan was selected 8th overall by the Bills in the 1987 NFL Draft. During his six seasons in Buffalo, the won Defensive Rookie or the Year and made three Pro Bowls.

Smith is the first ever player from McNeese State to be elected to the College Football Hall of Fame. He earned First-Team All-American honors in 1982.

He played four seasons with the Bills.

The 16-member class with be enshrined into the College Football Hall of Fame on December 9th. ClientIP:, UserAgent: CCBot/2.0 ( Profile: TWCSAMLSP